Ladybugs and Veggies Leftovers

Dual Purpose Color Recipes

Do you stamp your own multi-step color recipes?

When I produce a color recipe guide for one of my multi-step stamp sets, I like to stamp on the same cardstock that I like to I use when creating cards, Solar White Classic Crest from Neenah. I love to experiment with color and will be the first to say, not all of my color experiments make the final color recipe that can be found on the KSS Community Forum. The ones that do, I keep the original stamped samples figuring I would eventually use them… eventually, use them and “waste not – want not”.

It has been very handy having a collection of stamped images already done especially if I needed a fast card but didn’t have time to stamp. I would dig through my stack of “color recipe samples”, and either die cut a stamped image or do some quick fussy cutting and I had a card within minutes.

color-recipe-sample

Over 11 years, I have used at least two full reams of cardstock (250 sheets per ream) just to create color recipes for 107 multi-step stamp sets! You would guess right that the stack of “approved” original color recipes was starting to take on a life of its own!!  LOL

I finally decided to organize the chaotic stack and pre-cut either with die cuts or fussy cut all of it! Then I store the cut stamped images by categories in clear plastic photo boxes. I am about 3/4 finished with the ones needing fussy cutting! Having these stamped images all ready to go sure makes it easy for quick cards.color-recipe-w-cut-outs

Here are two cards that were created with color recipes “leftovers”.  The ladybugs card were cut into squares with metal dies and the veggies & berries card were fussy cut which made it super easy to layout the design before using adhesive and pop dots. Now, I think I can hear you say, “That is a LOT of FUSSY CUTTING!?!” True, but I just take a stack and cut away while watching a movie at night and it is amazing how fast it goes when you are cutting the same thing… PLUS, tools can make ALL the difference! I do all my fussy cutting with a pair of small, EK Precision Scissors. They cut like butter and won’t fussy cut without them. 🙂

4-ladybugs-card

Stamps to make this card: Ladybug Hugs Multi-Step Clear Stamps from Kitchen Sink Stamps.

produce-thank-you

Stamps to make this card: Tomato Multi-Step Clear Stamps, Lettuce Multi-Step Clear Stamps, Berries Multi-Step Clear Stamps, and Make a Big Statement Clear Stamps.

•••

Ladybug Hugs – Color Recipe

Tomato Hugs – Color Recipe

Lettuce – Color Recipe

Berries – Color Recipe

•••

Please check out what the KS Crew has cooked up for you using today’s new stamps… and have an inky day!

Lynn Jeanne

•••

(Square Ladybugs Card)

StampsLadybug Hugs Multi-Step Clear Stamps from Kitchen Sink Stamps.

Paper: Solar White Classic Crest from Neenah. Mars and Cappuccino from Neenah. Basic Black from my cardstock stash.

Inks: Memento, Catherine Pooler & GinaK – see Ladybug Hugs Color Recipe

EmbellishmentsWink of Stella Clear Pen from Zig, Classic Square Nestabilities from Spellbinders, and Chevron Embossing Folders from Darice.

•••

(Veggies & Berries Thank You Card)

StampsTomato Multi-Step Clear StampsLettuce Multi-Step Clear StampsBerries Multi-Step Clear Stamps, and Make a Big Statement Clear Stamps from Kitchen Sink Stamps.

Paper: Solar White Classic Crest from Neenah. Always Artichoke and River Rock from SU!

Inks: Memento, Catherine Pooler & GinaK – see Tomato Hugs – Color Recipe, Lettuce – Color Recipe, and Berries – Color Recipe.

EmbellishmentsWink of Stella Clear Pen from Zig and pop dots.

2 thoughts on “Ladybugs and Veggies Leftovers

  1. I love those veggies!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Stacey! ❤️🥗🍅

      Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close