Enjoying the fruits of success

Peach picking …

a successful weekend of canning!

Canning-lables-2013

After a weekend of canning peaches & plums … (peaches, peach jam, peach salsa (yum!), red plum & raspberry jam and green plum, blackberry & raspberry jam) … I realized I had picked Green Plums (sweet and tart), not Gold Plums. So I had to add those color recipes too.

Revised color recipe for Multi Step Peach, found  HERE.

•••

I thought it would be fun stamp the fruit as top can labels. I didn’t worry about buying adhesive labels. I cut circles from card stock scraps (using a few different sizes) and Classic Circles Nestiblilites. Honestly, it took more time to cut the paper than stamp the labels.

Working with 6 labels at a time, I stamped one step at a time on each label before I moving onto the next step. This made multi step stamping for mass production go quickly. Adding the second peach did take a little more time because of the masking, but I masked all six at the same time – again made it quicker.

Stamping a single multi step peach on 6 labels took about 15 mins.

mass-multiple-stamping

•••

 I can’t believe the amount of canned goods came from that picking session … plus, I have more peaches in the freezer!  🙂

If you are looking for a good Peach Salsa recipe,

I found one on allrecipes.com. It had been altered from another recipe, which I then altered. I did not use the amount of sugar the allrecipe called for (the peaches were sweet enough on their own) and made a few changes since I had 2 mangos that I wanted to use.

3 cups fresh peaches + 1 cup mango – peeled, pitted and chopped

1/2 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper

4 jalapeno peppers, minced


1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro


3 cloves garlic, minced

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

1/4 cup distilled white vinegar

1 teaspoon grated lime zest


1/4 cup white sugar

all-canning2013

I doubled the above recipe but did not double the jalapeno peppers.

__________________________________________________________

Stamps: Multi Step Peach , Multi Step Berries and Mix It Up! from Kitchen Sink Stamps.
Paper: Solar White Classic Crest  from Neenah & Classic Circles Nestiblilites from Spellbinders.
Inks: (Memento inks) Peaches & Plums: Please see Multi Step Peach Color Recipe – rev. for the different color variations used. Leaves: Step #3 – Grape Jelly, Step #2 – Bamboo Leaves, Step #1 – Pear Tart. Date: Northern Pine. “Salsa”: Elderberry.
2 thoughts on “Enjoying the fruits of success

    • Thank you Merdith for the lovely comment! I never knew about green plums either until I picked one! If you like sweet with a bit if a tart bite … then you would love these. I need to go back and find out its name. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

