Color Recipe Friday

Something new for Fridays from the Kitchen.

Many readers may not know this, but Kitchen Sink Stamps didn’t always offer Color Recipe guides to support their stamps. I’m not sure myself when the first color recipe appeared or how it all started … but from the very first one, KSS stampers quickly let me know that “color recipes” were a big help getting their creative color mojo workin’.

Fast forward, 4 1/2 years later (do you believe it??!!!) and I still have stamp sets without a color recipe. (gasp!) 😦  One thing I know about myself, to get things done that are on the “catch-up” list, I must have a deadline. Otherwise it is this interruption or that distraction that “cuts in line” and pushes those “catch-up” tasks further down the list …. (is it just me?)

I love it when I get those emails asking for help with a particular color challenge… I also look at it as a deadline…”someone needs it now”. So, when I received this recent color recipe request, I was inspired to start “Color Recipe Friday”.

Today’s color recipe request comes from Billie Jo, who is facing 4 upcoming graduations. Each with a unique color combination using the set, 3 Step Graduation. My first card was inspired by one of Billie Jo’s color requests: royal blue/red/white. The tassel could be a simple red and white by using only Step #2 in red, but what if the tassel is red/white/blue… how cool would that be? This is when using dew drop inks come in handy! Following the “tassel turns”, first with red, then blue while using my finger to wipe away any area of unwanted ink. Then add more red and ending with blue. 🙂 Yea!

The next card was inspired from another of Billie Jo’s color combination. She needed orange and black, but I did this card in red and black. You can down load the full color recipe to 3 Step Graduation – HERE.

Please keep those color requests coming! Leave them either here on my blog or in the KSS forum under Color Recipes Requests.

… so, which KSS set do you wish had a color recipe?

Sneak peeks to New Stamps start this Monday, 4/16

Have a FABULOUS weekend!!!

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Stamps: 3 Step Graduation from Kitchen Sink Stamps.
Paper: Solar White Classic Crest from Neenah, Navy from Core’dinations, Mars and Noir from Stardream.
Inks: (all Memento Inks unless noted): CARD ONE-Cap: Step #3 – Tuxedo Black, Step #2 – Paris Dusk, Step #1 – Danube Blue. Tassel: Step #2 – Rhubarb Stalk & Danube Blue.  Sentiment: Majestic Blue (VersaFine). CARD TWO-Cap: Step #3 – Sweet Plum, Step #2 – Rhubarb Stalk, Step #1 – Lad Bug, Step #3 again cord only – Onyx Black (VersaFine). Tassel: Step #1 – Lady Bug, Step #2 -Onyx Black (VersaFine).  Sentiment: Onyx Black (VersaFine).
Embellishments: 5/8″ navy grosgrain ribbon and 5/8″ deep red grosgrain ribbon.

4 thoughts on “Color Recipe Friday

  1. Great idea! I am going to need to make some red cowboy boots in the next little bit. My son wears them exclusively. He is turning four on Wednesday and I wanted to use the boots for thank you cards!

    Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

