21 square tribute!

Happy Kitchen Sink Monday … I am still seeing “squares”…. over 21 of them!   Smiley from millan.net

I had picked up this 25 box “count-down box” at least a year ago (sorry, can’t remember where on line, but will let you know when it comes to me) and it has been patiently waiting on a shelf for the perfect occasion. Well that time finally came… and I used it as a 21st birthday gift for my God Daughter who turn 21 last week! (I still can’t believe she’s 21!) I filled each little box with either cash or a treasure.

Using all Memento inks, I stamped a full 12″x12″ sheet using 3 Step Butterflies. I started with 3 large butterflies in the center [Inks: Top butterfly – Step #3 – Rich Cocoa, Step #2 Rhubarb Stalk, Step #1 Cantaloupe. Center butterfly – Step #3 – Rich Cocoa, Step #2 Tangelo, Step #1 Dandelion. Bottom butterfly – Step #3 – Rich Cocoa, Step #2 Potter’s Clay, Step #1 Cantaloupe]. Then added the middle size butterflies [Inks: Purple butterflies – Step #3 – Paris Dusk, Step #2 Sweet Plum, Step #1 Lulu Lavender. Magenta butterflies – Step #3 – Paris Dusk, Step #2 Lilac Posies, Step #1 Angel Pink. Blue butterflies – Step #3 – Paris Dusk, Step #2 Bahama Blue, Step #1 Sky Blue.] randomly around the 3 larger ones and filled in the empty spaces with the two smaller “fluttering” butterflies [Inks: Purple butterflies – Step #3 – Tuxedo Black, Step #2 Grape Jelly, Step #1 Lilac Posies. Blue butterflies – Step #3 – Tuxedo Black, Step #2 Danube Blue, Step #1 Bahama Blue]. When masking was needed, I used Eclipse Strips to mask off the edge of a wing (more on that to follow in my next post). Then I stamped over the entire sheet using the background script stamp [in Desert Sand] from 3 Step Letters from the Past. Final touch, adding the postage marks from the same set [Inks: stampStep #2 Tuxedo Black, Step #1 London Fog. post marks Rich Cocoa and London Fog]. Finishing by highlighting the butterflies with Atyou Spica pens – Clear, Lavender, Sky Blue and Gold.

Now, if you are wondering why the back of the box is on its side … well, I thought this box was square. It’s not! LOL! When I realized that the small boxes on the front, fit in only one way … it was too late, the back stamped paper had already been attached. These are those “OH, NO!” moments when you simply have say to yourself… “Ok, I ment for it to look that way!”, and move forward! LOL!

The front boxes where digitally created. I wasn’t sure if I would like stamping right on the photo. This also allowed me to get all the photos and numbers to fit. The double digit numbers are a bit smaller.

This project also works for Angela’s challenge: It’s Hip to be SquareKS Crew Challenge #24.

Please check out what the rest of the KS Crew has cooked up for you too!
Angela – Challenge Hostess ConnieJulieLisaLynnMakiko

•••••••••••••••
Come join us in the KS Crew Challenge fun!

•••••••••••••••

Materials – Stamps: 3 Step Butterflies and 3 Step Letters from the Past from Kitchen Sink Stamps. Paper: 12″x12″ Whisper White from SU! Ink: All Memento Inks.  (see above for colors). Embellishments: Prima Flowers Brads from SEI. Adhesive rhinestones from Michael’s. Grosgrain ribbon – Brocade Blue from SU! Lavender Moon twill tape ribbon from Papertrey. Atyou Spica pens – Clear, Lavender, Sky Blue and Gold. Count down to 25 box – sorry, I can’t remember where I got it.
8 thoughts on “21 square tribute!

  1. What a treasure!! I know your God daughter is going to be thrilled and delighted with this awesome gift!! Love the addition of your stunning butterfly paper!!

    Like

  2. What a treasure for a gift. I hope she loved it. How nice of you to go to all this work and the sideways panel just means it is one of a kind in more than one sense. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

