Color Throwndown Challenge #83 … take 2 & a color bonus!

I thought Tammy’s CT color challenge with these bright Spring colors were so fun… I just had to do another card for this week’s Color Throwdown Challenge! …. and boy, you should check out what the Color Throwdown Design Team came up with… gorgeous!

Tammy’s colors for Color Throwdown #83 are:Marigold Morning, Wild Wasabi, Bermuda Bay and Melon Mambo

I had started this card  several weeks ago. I did not like the background behind the lamb and bunny. It was white and the lamb was getting lost. So,  I had come to stand still and put the aside…  hoping something would come along  and inspire me. Well, it did … it was Connie’s clouds with her little lambs card [HERE] was the ticket!!!! (two minds thinking alike down the same path… but mine got stuck in the mud! LOL!) Thanks Connie for the heavenly inspiration!  You will also find a color recipe for both Little Lambs HERE and the Bunny from 3 Step Honey Bunny HERE.

••••••••

With my first challenge card, I mentioned that I did not have all the SU! inks… which lead me to find close substitutes using a different ink brand.

I will admit, I have been working on an Ink Substitution Chart for some time now and I would like to share it with you.

So now if you see a color you don’t have used in a Multi Step Color Recipe, you can go to the chart and see if you have something else that might work instead.

Please keep in mind that colors can shift even within a manufacturer (even as I walk from room to room. LOL!). For example, I have two different ink pads of Imperial Purple…. one is dark gray-purple and the other is a brighter blueish-purple. Kind of crazy… but it happens, different dye lots, even aging over time can cause the difference…. but, I can’t bear to part with either one!  When one of the purples is used by its self, it is noticeable that they are very different… but when I use either one when I am multi step stamping … it all seems to meld together and they look the same. I think I’ll call it color harmony!  🙂

My starting point was to match inks to SU!’s paper line, comparing the full line of Tsukineko’s inks. This included; Memento Dye Inks, Brilliance Pigment Inks, VersaFine Pigment Inks and VersaMagic Pigment Inks. You will notice a few colors are the alternative choice for several different colors… it might be a touch lighter, brighter or darker… but close enough where it works.  You’ll also find some colors are a “spot on” match (love that!). I also included two other ink brands to my ink substitution chart …. Palette Hybrid Ink and Adirondack Dye Inks.

Again… this is just how my eyes are seeing it, you may find that you have a substitution that you like much better than what I have here on this list. …. and if you do, I would love to learn about it. 🙂

Hope you find my Ink Substitution Chart helpful.   Happy Stamping!

•••••••••••••••
Materials – Stamps: 3 Honey Bunny, Multi Step Little Lambs, Plaid Plus! (to decorate the eggs) and Ready 4 Any Holiday from Kitchen Sink Stamps. Paper: Solar White Classic Crest from Neenah. Wild Wasabi, Bermuda Bay and Melon Mambo from SU! Ink: HERE for Little Lambs and HERE for Bunny. Clouds in Aquatic Splash – VersaMagic, Sentiment in Cantaloupe – Memento and Turquoise Gem – VersaMagic. Grass – Step #3 Cottage Ivy – Memento, Step #2 Bamboo Leaves – Memento, Step #1 New Sprout – Memento.  Embellishments: Atyou Spica pen – clear. Labels 6 from Nestabilities.  Egg punch from Punch Bunch. Adhesive Gems from K&Co. Ribbon from sei (sorry, it was a scrap from a kit).
7 thoughts on “Color Throwndown Challenge #83 … take 2 & a color bonus!

  1. Really pretty and the colours work so well together. I agree with the others, the chart is fantastic, thanks for putting in the all the work!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

