Peter, Peter pumpkin eater?

Happy KSS Monday!!!

I will admit, I am happy how this pumpkin box turned out,  but it didn’t start out to be a box.

It all started with one pumpkin… and grew and grew! LOL! This box took on a life of its own. When I had finished stamping my grove of pumpkins… well, it seemed that the finished image was a bit too big for a card… hmmm?

Pumpkin-Box

As I scanned my craft room, searching (for what?… I had no clue!), I spotted an old box that was screaming out, “Alter ME!”  … so I did.

The box would need to be covered, but paper would be too thick to allow the box to still shut properly. How about painting it? Yup, this would be a good time to crack open a bottle of Ranger’s Distress Crackle Paint in Antique Linen color. I have been itching to try this paint but wasn’t sure on what.

Pumpkin-Box-CornerBefore I applied the crackle paint, I painted the box with a dark, contrasting color of paint. I used Mushroom Acrylic Paint from Folk Art. After the paint was completely dry (the heat gun sped up the process), I covered the painted box completely with the crackle paint. I just love the finished results form this paint with all the different size cracks. The thicker the paint, the bigger the cracks. I let this coat of paint dry over night. Then it was just a matter of matting my stamped image, and the box was done. (Well, except for the bottom of the box! LOL!)

So, this is my story of a box that started out as one little pumpkin!  Happy Monday!

Please take a peek at what the rest of the KS Crew has cooked up for you today!

Angel •  Connie •  Dee •  Julie •  Lisa

Lori •  Lynn •  Makiko

Pumpkins Color Recipe can be found HERE

Materials – Stamps: Multi Step Pumpkins from Kitchen Sink Stamps. Paper: Double sided mulberry paper Tan/Chocolate from the Paper Company. River Rock and Marigold Morning from SU! VIntage Cream from Papertrey. Ink: for the Pumpkins, vines and flowers – see Color recipes. Shadows on the ground under the pumpkins were sponged with Sahara Sand and Jumbo Java – both VersaMagic.  Embellishments: Bronze photo corners from We R Memory Keepers. Emboss zig-zag border punch from Martha Stewart. For the BOX: Mushroom acrylic paint from Folk Art under Antique Linen Distress Crackle Paint from Ranger. Aged the edges and corners by sponging with Sahara Sand and Jumbo Java – VersaMagic.

14 thoughts on “Peter, Peter pumpkin eater?

  1. This is just fabulous with all those gorgeous, beautifully colored pumpkins!! I too love using crackle paint and it’s perfect for this altered box!! Your ideas are always so wonderful and inspiring, TFS!!

    Like

  2. So beautiful, Maria!! I know what you mean…very often I start with one of your fab images, and then it just grows and grows! One of the things I love about your stamps…the versatility!!

    Your altered box is just so fun! Anyone would love to receive a box like this…who cares what would be inside of it!! LOL!!

    Like

  3. Ahhhh the box, LOL It truly is a work of art. I don’t think you have ever done anything I didn’t like. You have such a great color wheel in your mind. I have already printed out the color recipes and now I can’t wait to get the pumpkins so i can start using them. Hugs, T

    Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

