KS Crew Challenge #11 with Guest Hostess – Makiko!

crew-challenge-logo2Another KS Crew Challenge Monday and today we have another visitor joining us in the Kitchen! I would love to welcome our Guest Hostess for KS Crew Challenge #11 is, Makiko!

makiko-for-kssMakiko’s work is elegant with clean lines and has a graceful way she uses color! Makiko won today’s Guest Hostess spotlight with her winning Purple Rose Sympathy card in the Jan/Feb. “What’s Cooking… contest”. Makiko’s rose reminds me of a tea rose called Sterling Silver. So elegant …So beautiful!

Now before I get to Makiko’s challenge, I would like you all to have the same pleasure as myself, by getting to know a little bit more about her.

___________________________

Hello, my name is Makiko Jones. I’m originally from Tokyo, Japan and now live in a small town in Texas. I’ve been married to my best friend, Troy since 1995. We have 2 children (age 11 and 7) and 3 spoiled cats. Before I found the love of stamping, I was scrapbooking about 2 years. My friends invited me Stampin’ Up! Workshop in fall 2004, and I haven’t stopped stamping since then. I love the endless possibilities of stamping, and I’m so happy I made so many great friends through this wonderful hobby. I hope I start scrapbooking again but right now, the card making and stamping are my favorite things to do. When I’m not in my stamp room, I love to go to great restaurants, shop antique stores and take pictures. I’m so excited to host the KS Crew challenge for the next two weeks and I hope you have a fun time with the challenge. Happy Stamping!

___________________________

On to Makiko’s challenge, which seems to be a logical choice seeing how Makiko loves and uses color 😀

Makiko’s challenge is to: Make a card or a project with using just monochromatic colors.
I love the look and drama from monochromatic colors. Also, try adding dimension with pop-ups, foam adhesives or anything that can raise pieces. Let’s give our project a pop!

Again, for my sample, I looked to our guest hostess for not only the challenge, but for my inspiration… SO, it was Makiko’s color combo on her Purple Rose Sympathy card, where I got my inspiration for today’s sample. Here is my card for Makiko’s challenge.

purple-roses-revThank you Makiko for the fabulous challenge! 😀

For more samples & inspiration to Makiko’s challenge: see what she and the rest of the KS Crew cooked up.

Makiko – Guest HostessAngelaDeeJulieLoriLynnNicoleTammy

___________________________

I hope you will join Makiko , the KS Crew and myself and play along, you will be playing for a chance for one of 3 prizes. 1st prize is $50 worth of Kitchen Sink Stamps.

For all the info, go HERE. You have 2 weeks to leave your link below in the Mr. Linky box on the Kitchen Sink Stamps Blog. Deadline for Makiko’s challenge is Sunday eve., April 19, midnight EST.

Please use KSCC#11, kitchensinkstamps or KSS as the keyword or tag when uploading to your favorite gallery so we can see everyone’s work together.

Happy KS Challenge Monday!purple-roses-rev-close-up1

Materials – Stamps: 3 Step Hearts & Roses, Never a Loss 4 Words and Ready 4 Any Holiday from Kitchen Sink Stamps.
Paper: Pale Plum, Perfect Plum, Elegant Eggplant and Shimmery White from SU! Alabaster White Vellum from The Paper Company.
Ink: Step #1 Pale Plum, Step #2 Lavender Lace, Step #3 Perfect Plum, Step #4 Elegant Eggplant. Step #2 in Pale Plum only was stamped on the vellum.
Embellishments: Ribbon Tag and Labels Trio from Nestabilities. Purple Grosgrain ribbon from Michael’s. Brush silver eyelets from Making Memories.Sakura Gelly Roll pen – Clear Star.


8 thoughts on “KS Crew Challenge #11 with Guest Hostess – Makiko!

  1. Wow, wow, wow!! Maria, this is super gorgeous!! I had goosebumps on my arms when I looked at your card, lol. I love how you designed the center panel. You surely know how to make it pop!! Thank you for the opportunity being the hostess.

    Like

  2. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out
    a designer to create your theme? Superb work!

    Like

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

