It’s World Card Making Day in the Kitchen… and It’s My Turn!

IT is 5 o’clock!my turn! YaHoo!

Let’s open those draws … find those goodies we have been stashing away for something special … or love so much we hate to use it… because we all know, if we use it, we won’t have any more … or worse, can’t find anymore! Dust off that tool, gadget or thing-a-ma-bob… that you haven’t used in a REALLY long time … and let’s go at it! πŸ˜€

Yes, my challenge is: Use something you have, that you have never used before or have used only a few times. It could be a paper, ink, embellishment, tool, etc. Remember: all of the KS challenges today are for holiday cards (any holiday coming up in the next 3 months).

On a charitable note: If you are interested in donating the cards you make today, a recent KS Guest Designer, Keri Lee Sereika, has a very worthy cause, called “Stamp Your Heart Out“, where they are sending donated cards to our brave servicemen & women overseas. You can read all about HERE. Bravo Keri! πŸ˜€

___________________________________________________________________________

As for my sample card well, there is a bit of a story …

I have had these two assortment sets, one of glitter and one of flocking from Doodlebug, for quite awhile… just staring at me, wondering if they were EVER going to be used. I thought, “Today is the day!”, this would the perfect time to use them!

So, off I go with glitter and flock in one hand, and my Essential Glue Pad and Playful Christmas stamp set in the other. Now I confess, I am a bit leery here, I have never used the flock before and as of late… I am not too happy with the glue pad either. So I roll up my sleeves and get to work with making some Christmas trees!

First, the flocking… looks petty good! (It helps to press the flock down with your fingers and to coat several times with the flock – glue only once.) But, I’m not sure… must see how the glitter looks too. Well, that also looks good. (Now, I must say at this point, I have not put the flock or glitter back in their original containers. They are both sitting in individual piles on separate pieces of paper…. well, why put it back if I am not done using it? Right?

I decided to make my trees out of the flock. So, I pour the glitter back into the very small glass vial which it came from…. or SO I THOUGHT! YES!!!! Exactly what you are thinking! In my horror when realizing that I was pouring the glitter into the 1/2 full vial of the flock! It was too late!

Well… to make this very long “who got my peanut butter on my chocolate” story, short … I had an A-HA moment!!!!! I think I have come up with glitter-flock! LOL!!! So, tell me if I am nuts… but I like the effect! What do you think? Thank goodness they were the same color! πŸ˜€

Here it is!!!!! A sample of my challenge!

I was so excited… I had to just finish the card! Seriously… boy, did I have plans for this card!!! LOL! Anyway, I think it is a pretty cool effect … the photo isn’t doing it justice. It looks like a fuzzy tree that has been dusted in the area with glitter … like snow on a some of the tree branches. Well, keep a look out, I am not finished with this discovery! πŸ˜€

Then, I dusted off my Zutter: Bid-it-All, pulled out a set of 8 x8″Acrylic Book Covers that I have been saving, and my stamp sets: Playful Frames & Journaling, 1/2 Pint Playful Alphabet Buddy, and Happy Birthday Cupcake and made this…..
The winner of my challenge: (which will be randomly selected ) will receive….. this 8″x8″ acrylic cover, card organizer/album. I thought it might come in handy with all the cards being made today! πŸ˜‰

Thanks for playing along with us today!!!

I hope you had fun? I have had a blast! πŸ˜€

OK: I know some of you have been waiting…. so patiently waiting to hear who the Winner is, for β€œWhat’s Cook’n with Your Kitchen Sink Stamps?” – Special Drawing. πŸ˜€

Well, the winner is….

….. oh really now, you didn’t think I would add the winner to this post? .. did you? πŸ˜€

The name of the winner will be announced in … 5, 4, 3, 2, 1! (please see the next post!) πŸ˜€

And for all my readers (and VERY patient “What’s Cook’n” players) … here is an extra “Happy World Card Making Day” surprise! πŸ˜€

From now until midnight tonight (EST)… you can get 10% off everything in the Kitchen Sink Store!

Use the promotion code: WCMD

7 thoughts on “It’s World Card Making Day in the Kitchen… and It’s My Turn!

  1. I have totally done that before! Then you can’t undo what you’ve done. That’s too funny.

    I am sad to say, I have so many things that I just haven’t used and so this should be easy for me to come up with something. I think the hardest thing is going to decide which of my unused things to actually use.

    Woo Hoo! 10% I’m on it.

    Like

  2. ok, since i want to see if I won I will stay with you a few more minutes. You are definitely worth the head ache and hand strain and eye strain of hopping around for the past 7 hours enjoying WCMD. Everyone has been wonderful to do blog candy and challenges and what fun it has all been. But you are the winners here. You are the ones who design and inspire and share and can I say more. But, Thank YOU!

    Like

  3. Maria, your glitter/flock trees look very nice! Did you also glitter/flock your words? Time to mix my flock/glitter as I hadn’t been using them either! You have my mind twirling with ideas!
    VA in AZ

    Like

  4. I really like how your card turned out! LOL!

    Do we have to make seperate cards for each challenge? I have only had enough time to make one card but the description would fit your challenge even though I made it for Tracy’s challenge. I’ve had a jar of unused SU Iridescent powder and I broke it open to make my Christmas card. You can view it here:
    http://fancycraftyme.blogspot.com/2008/10/christmas-card.html

    If not then that’s ok. I just thought I’d let you know that I did actually use something that I have had in a drawer for a couple of years! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Pingback: Another card for KSS’s WCMD Challenge « Kitchensinkstamps’s Weblog

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

