Plaid Plus! Tutorial …. make your own plaid

Plaid Plus! Tutorial

Hold on to your hats with this tutorial, it is long…but I wanted to give you every step of how I made the plaid background for this card. ๐Ÿ˜€

(For all the materials used for this card, you can find the full list HERE.)

OK… let’s get stared! ๐Ÿ˜€ (Note: since there are a LOT of photos… they will be in thumb nail form in this post… just click on the image to see it larger ๐Ÿ˜€ ).

Inks used : Memento – Cantaloupe, Pear Tart, Rhubarb Salk and Grape Jelly

To start this plaid, I am stamping on a 6.5″ x 6.5″ piece of card stock (in this case, it is shimmery white). I find it helps me keep my lines straight and square if I am stamping on a square piece (…maybe it is just me! LOL!). [TIP] I like to adhere some type of removable/non permanent adhesive to the back of my card stock so it does not slip and slide while stamping โ€œsectionsโ€ of stripes to create the final plaid. ๐Ÿ˜€

I have a long, narrow block with grid lines (see fig.1), which I LOVE using for stamps that I want to have straight and/or lined up. I start with the stamp that has 2 thin stripes between 3 thick stripes (see fig.2). Line up the edge of the stamp so the squares on the block may be used as guides to line up with the card stockโ€™s edge. This will help keep the first rows straight.

Using the color Cantaloupe to ink up the stamp, the first row of stripes will soon become a plaid. The little black arrows I added to the photo (see fig.2), point out which lines I am using as guides to line up the left and bottom sides of the card stock. ๐Ÿ˜€

This is section #1 of stripes (see fig.3) . To add more โ€œsectionsโ€, I over stamp the top stamped stripe with the bottom stripe of the stamp, which will become section #2 of stripes.

To over stamp the sections (see fig.4) , you want your bottom corners to match up perfectly. I find that if I place the bottom left corner tip of the stamp … to the bottom corner tip of the top inked stripe (see tiny black arrows), then keeping an eye that the block guidelines stay lined up with the left edge of my paper, I then line up the right side of the stamp (in the air with only the left side of stamp and paper touching) with the bottom right tip of the stamp to the bottom right corner of the top inked stripe.
When the bottom corners are all lined up (see arrows in fig.5), press down to stamp. (Oh, how I LOVE clear stamps!)

Now, notice in fig.5, inside the oval (which I have added to spotlight this area), the ink looks lighter…this is air. To remove this air, I run my fingers back and forth over the block until the โ€œlight areasโ€ are gone. This will insure you have a solid stamped impression…(Oh, another reason why I LOVE clear stamps!)

TA-DA! Now there are 2 sections of stripes. The arrows in (fig.6) show where the sections overlapped.

For this tutorial, I made my plaid a square, but you can keep on going! ๐Ÿ˜€ The arrows in fig.7 show that this sample has been over stamped 3xโ€™s to make 4 sections of stripes. This completes the first layer of the plaid.

For the next layer, I like to turn my paper and create the second layer the exact same way as the first. Easy-Pease!

In fig.8, the arrows indicate that I line up the edges of the stripes on the left and bottom sides using the first stamped layer as my guides. This will help keep those lines looking square (see fig.9). ๐Ÿ˜€

Repeat the same over stamp technique as on the first layer (see fig.10) .

Over stamp 3xโ€™s to make 4 sections of stripes to complete the second layer (see fig.11).

Using Pear Tart for the second color in this plaid (see fig.12) and the stamp with 2 thick stripes (see fig.13).

To line up the next stamp, place the stamp image side down and base side up, right on top of the stamped design (in cantaloupe). Placing it down the center of the thick stripe and between the two thin stripes (see fig.14).

Place the clear block over the stamp (see fig.15), lining the stamp up with the grid lines on the block, gently lower the block to the stamp. Press down. The stamp will now be attached to the block and all lined up to start stamping the next layer.

Ink up the stamp using Pear Tart, position the stamp in between the thin Cantaloupe stamped lines as you did in fig.14, while making sure the stamp lines up on both the left and right side (see fig.16) . Stamping from bottom to top, between the thin lines, skipping a section in between (see fig.17).

Turn your paper to the right so you have a straight Cantaloupe stripe on top and the Pear Tart stripes are now vertical. Repeat the same pattern starting at the top (see fig.18)

Stamping from bottom to top, repeat the same pattern (see fig.19).The fourth layer and second color is now complete. ๐Ÿ˜€

For the third color, I used Rhubarb Stalk and use the one thin line stamp (see fig.20).

To line up this very thin stamp, I place the block first this time, on top of the stamped design with a thin stripe running down the center of the block (see fig.21).

Holding both corners of the thin stamp, base side down and with a tiny bit of tension between both ends ( careful not to stretch the stamp), position both ends over the stamped stripe onto the block (see fig.22). The middle of the stamp should fall in place and stay straight. [note: this might take some practice… so hang in there! :D). Gently press the stamp down to make sure it completely stuck to the block.

You are now ready to stamp thin lines in a pattern, in both directions (see figs. 23 & 24) to finish your plaid.

I added the ink Grape Jelly to change the pattern up a bit for fun (see fig.25).

For variations: add a row of hearts or stars to your plaid for even more fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “Plaid Plus! Tutorial …. make your own plaid

Leave a Reply ... It's always great to hear from you! Thanks.

